PDA

View Full Version : eBay Shisters


HardTimes
02-07-2006, 09:05 PM
I am presenting my post from Performance Years and several responses from other members on the subject. :) Look forward to your responses.
__________________________________________________ _______

TITLE: eBay Shisters

The legal term is "theft by deception" and I just had the same situation as several other Pontiac folk have had on eBay and I paid via PayPal but neither eBay or PayPal will do anything about the situation.
_________________________________________

I won an auction for a RA carb pan that the seller called very rare, hard to get and the pictures appeared to be of an original steel tub. It arrived in a Classic Industries box and was a $139.00 fiberglass repro. The seller would not take it back and said it was well worth the $247 I paid him.

Here was his response when I finally got through to him:

Dear Whomever:
I told more than ten individuals that felt compelled to ask the makeup of the Ram Air Pan that it was Fiberglass. They thanked me and did what they wanted. I am sorry that you have found other one's out there cheaper and feel like you did not get to take advantage of the situation. The sale is final. The goods are non refundable. Feel free to do with it what ever you want. You own it.
Dan

As you can see, he knew what he was selling was a repro but did not say so in his eBay description, but he also was carful not to say it was original. Guess I screwed up by not asking but the pics were good and it looked correct. Bottom line, it is not what sellers say, it's was they don't say and if you aren't precise in your questions, you get burned.
_____________________________________________

Two people are involved, Gail and Dan McCarthy and they use "superdutyfirebirds" and "ramairsix" on eBay.

Gail Suzanne & Dan McCarthy, 253-735-8679 (ramairsix@aol.com)
1320 26th Street NW, #10
Auburn WA 98001

---------------------------------------------------------------------

RESPONSE:

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastgto
Awhile back on the website......www.northwestlegends.com...... a pontiac site from the northwest Seattle area, several other people on that site had warned about this person. You should post this info on there website as well. This is a good website full of good people. As this guy lives in that area, people on that site should be warned again.

I remember some info about this guy and a business he runs somewhere in the seattle area but what I remember wasn't that he took somebody's money for inferior or misrepresented parts. What I remember is that he was simply "strange" and he insulted people with his posts on northwest legends' website. I could be wrong though.

I'm sorry that you've been sold a fiberglass re-pop of a ram air pan when you thought that it was the real deal. That sucks !

Here is the website http://www.super-duty.net/

Is this the guy ? If so, maybe we can send somebody down there and have a talk with him.
__________________
Here comes da rockcrushin' Judge

------------------------------------------------------------------------

RESPONSE:

I just looked at the auction http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/e...&category=34198 and It doesn't look like he is accurate in his description of the pan and he certainly must know that it is a repo. He should have disclosed this, he should also refund your money if you are not satisfied. He also deserves the feedback that you left .

------------------------------------------------------------------------

This has also been posted on Super-Duty.net which is Dan's site. Although, there does not look like many people frequent that site. Enjoy.. :twisted:

Pontiacshack
02-07-2006, 10:25 PM
That's too bad, you'd think if a person was in business they'd be more upfront about the goods they sell for fear of something like this happening. These kind of things really make it hard to trust people in general, I hope your dealings in the future make up for this one,,, good luck.

Stefan.

69projects
02-07-2006, 10:50 PM
Cruise that site for a while and you'll get the feeling that something is hinkey about the dude. Everyone that i've dealt with associated with this club has been super, straight up and honest. This is unfortunately not the case elsewhere. If a deal seems too good to be true... you know the rest!

Goatnut
02-08-2006, 08:26 AM
I would not do business with Dan because of what I have heard. His response is less than ... polite also. However, it seems obvious to me from looking at the ebay ad that it is a fiberglass piece. He also started the "No Reserve" auction at $75.00, almost half of the retail price. I feel for you but there has to be some responsibility on the part of the buyer to make sure they are willing to pay what they bid. I agree this is a harsh lesson at $90.00 above retail but that is actually a pretty cheap education!

Scott

67DropTop455
02-09-2006, 01:04 PM
This "person" knows EXACTLY what he's doing, and knows all too well the ins and outs of Pontiacs, and I have no doubt that it was just as you say, a bait and switch. This person has a very long reputation for doing things just like what seems to be the case here.

This person has been sued multiple times, and usually comes out ok, due to loop holes, such as the business not being in his name, just so if a law suit is brought up, and the business is named, is wont stand up... everything has a deep twist. I've heard there are a lot of people looking for this person... and they only meet you by appointment, and are never there when you show up... they show up After they see who is coming to meet them at their place of business... what does that tell you?

I haven't heard anything about this person for quite a while and thought perhaps all the dealings had finally caught up to them... but I guess old habits die hard? I'm just sorry you were caught up in one of their vague
dealings...

Yes, it is sad, but there are more and more people more than willing to twist things anyway they can to take advantage of others... just skirting the law the best they can...

I'd say just cut your losses and move on... try to re sell it, and get a real one from some one who is honest and upfront? I wish you luck...

THOR
02-09-2006, 07:49 PM
:mad:
What a douche bag

ViolentBird
02-10-2006, 01:23 AM
WOW and WOW again. Will the accused stand up and tell his side.

sixt8bird
02-10-2006, 06:56 PM
What is his seller ID so we know who to look for? Link doesnt come up.

HOTROD64-STOCK69
02-10-2006, 07:32 PM
The link to his websight worked for me...His(PontiacDan) picture is there Maybe we will see him at the Hi-Po swap meet this weekend?

theJUDGE
02-10-2006, 09:49 PM
Just look for a cross between Grizzly Adams & Sasquatch.
Clocks in at about 310 & usually has a Rottweiler chained to him.

Niessen
02-11-2006, 02:19 AM
Spent a little while looking at his site, and it sure doesn't take much time to figure out that he's good at making enemies. Take this quote:

"I remember when the wife and I were just on our feet in Tacoma. The two local Marina's had Crooked as Hell Mechanics working for them. They vowed to eliminate me."

Eliminate? Sounds serious. And someone decided to torch his stuff, see his arson gallery (http://www.super-duty.net/modules.php?set_albumName=album94&id=Copy_of_Copy_of_IM001932&op=modload&name=gallery&file=index&include=view_photo.php) for some more interesting quotes. While I'm loathe to judge someone after such a small tour, I can say with some certainty that I don't want to go anywhere near the guy.

Thanks for the heads-up. http://www.northwestlegends.com/forums/images/icons/icon14.gif

BadBob51
01-28-2007, 12:07 PM
Unfortunately I bought a motor and a tripower from this guy. It was supposed to be numbers matching but I found out later that the date code had been altered. He naturally denied doing it but who else would be motivated to change a date code? One of the heads had a hole in the exhaust side which he offered to weld but I don't want this guy near my car. The tripower looked good but was cosmetically rebuilt with cheap parts. Throttle bodies leaked air so much that it wouldn't run properly. I can't believe this guy is still in business....or alive for that matter. Sounds like a lot of people have been burned by him.